Yin-yang Project. Real Ceiling

We have re-edited Yin Yang Project again from IE University in collaboration with the municipality of Segovia. The structure designed and mounted during the course Construction Systems III under the coordination of Professor Fermin Blanco, can be seen in the Mint (Casa de la Moneda).

“Real Ceiling” is the result of a workshop based on the use of wood in architecture. After the system approach, the team has been focused on two intensive sessions; a theoretical framework to open the discussion and the practical part to create and mount the structure during an eminently practical session.

The main educational goal of this experience is creating the proper atmosphere for teamwork, discussion and ideas debate. All of this by using wood, modular and removable systems and as a working tool.

Beyond the final solution, (as a result of different parameters) the importance here is based on the process. CONSTRUCTION as life, is a PROCESS.

We hope you will enjoy the pictures!

Project. Yin yang
Construction Systems III
Ie Univesity.
Professor Fermin Blanco

CNC Modeling Elena Cardiel García

Designed and built by

Alexandre Gutiérrez
Bob Morand
Deiene González Uriarte
Erin Hunt
Isabel Espinar Mateo
Julia Castaño Escorial
Nadine Kabbani
Nathalie Lagard
Pablo Barceló Moreno
William Chami

Ying Yang Tulipwood

Cataloged arquia próxima 2014.

Alumnos aula de madera
Alumnos IE University

Andrew Lawrence. ARUP
Manja Van der Wrop. ARUP
Simon Bateman. ARUP

Laboratory INIA-CIFOR
Juan I. Fernández-Golfín Seco
Eva Hermoso Prieto
Juan Carlos Cabrero Rojo
Emilio Camacho de la Torre


Security plan

Concrete Lupo
Sika Group

Description & Pictures
This project was a participative workshop which formed part of the Segovia Hay Festival in 2012. It was proposed as a complementary activity and conclusion to the Timber Seminar which deals with wood as a construction material. This seminar was a result of a collaboration agreement between Ie University and the American Hardwood Export Council.

Its main objective is to show the properties of wood as a material that joins tradition and avant-garde in the  eld of architecture. This aim is achieved through education, in this case at university level, with students of architecture in their last year. For the present workshop, we propose two simultaneous activities in two singular points of the
city of Segovia; the Aqueduct and the Casa de los Picos Palace, the headquarter of he Design School of the city and one of the o€ cial venues of the Festival.

Both workshops used Lupo System´s own didactic technique and geometric forms. Lupo is a didactic tool patented by the architect Fermin Blanco, who is as the same time professor of Construction at Ie University and the coordinator of the Timber Seminar.

Other than creating a sculptural piece, in this case we propose a participative project where the process is as important as the  nal result. In fact, it is conceived of as an ephemeral architectural system, with an in nite number of uses. Dismantling the structure is also part of the workshop, after this it can be reutilized in any location and with any other form and objectives. The process of manufacturing, transportation, assembly and dismantling are explained graphically in this document.

The material proposed for all this activity, which can be seen as an art performance, will be wood, more speci cally, tulipwood whose properties of lightness, resistance and  nish will be the protagonist of each step of the project.

Sequence of the construction of the aqueduct of Segovia replica.


Enneco Viana Cora, Darío Marazuela Gómez, Pablo Zapata García, Tulio José García Fernández, Elena Berrón Jiménez, Beatriz Rincón García, Sara Sanchez González, Ignacio Giménez Rebollo, Antonio Julián Sevilla, David Maria Sanz, Paula Álvarez García, Noelia Campelo Gutierrez, Ignacio del Pozo Marinas, Carmen Fores Pulgar, Cecila Marina Clavería, Leticia Merino García, Cristina Moreno Cabello, Andres Ruíz Martínez, Fernando Sánchez Arroyo, Ruben Tapias Canas, Laura Vallejo Ruano, Roberto Molinos Esparza, Nathalie Lagard, Carlota Isabel Espinar Mateo, Hadi Dernaika Talal, Olalla Monteagudo Teira, Kenza Bouzoubaa, Lucas Yung Woo Chung, Nadine Kabbani, María Julia Castaño Escorial, Ana Beatriz Tomas Escarrer, Simão Quintela de Saldanha Aguiam, Nicolas Grandjean